Virtual Tour – Aiding the Enemy by Julie Rowe

Aiding the Enemy_Tour Banner_FINAL

Rose Culver is in grave danger. For months the Red Cross head nurse has been aiding Allied soldiers caught behind enemy lines, helping them flee into neutral Netherlands. It’s only a matter of time until she’s caught. Which makes it the wrong time to fall in love with a handsome German military doctor as devoted to the sanctity of human life as she is.
The Great War has caused Dr. Herman Geoff to question everything he once believed. He knows Rose has been hiding British soldiers in her hospital—he’s even treated some of them, refusing to go against his own Hippocratic oath. As a doctor, he admires Rose’s skill and conviction. As a man, he can no longer deny his attraction to her. But when Rose is arrested for treason, Herman must choose between love for her and duty to his country…

Author, Juliet Rowe, writes:

“To the ever glorious memory of the one who died and to the undying honour of those who served.” ~ Epitaph of Sergeant Joseph William Lapp, 48th HC, 3.10.43 (age 31)

This is an epitaph on a WW2 soldier’s grave in Europe, one that gives a perfect dedication for what today is: A day to remember and honour our war dead. spymaster

My goal with AIDING THE ENEMY and the books preceding it wasn’t just to entertain, but to also serve as a reminder of what we can never allow ourselves to forget: the sacrifice of so many in war. There are no living soldiers or veterans left from World War One. It is up to us, their legacy, to keep their memory alive and say their names out loud.

Here are a few, with epitaphs, from the book WORDS OF VALIDICTION AND REMEMBRANCE by Eric McGeer.

Till justice rules there is no liberty. I died for it. ~ Epitaph of Flight Lieutenant Arthur Grant Longwell, RCAF, 14.2.43 (age 29)

Though they sleep, their glory fades not, their deeds can never die. ~ Epitaph of Flying officer Wendell Stuart Curtis, RCAF, 7.11.44 (age 21)

In thought, faith. In deed, courage. In life, service. In death, victory. ~ Epitaph of Lance Corporal Clare Davidson Kines, RWR, 8.6.44 (age 29)

Sleep, dear son. Honour, justice, duty, all survive by your mortal fall. ~ Epitaph of Lieutenant Mackay Mackay, PPCLI, 27.8.18 (age 28)

Sleep peacefully, dear daddy. ~ Epitaph of Corporal Walter Oscar Rintala, QORC, 26.4.45 (age 32)

His task is finished, ours just begun, to bring peace. We shall not fail him. ~ Epitaph of Private Clive Austin Mills, ASHC, 24.10.44 (age 19)

He is not dead whose memory still is living within a nation’s heart. ~ Epitaph of Major Norman Campbell Pilcher, 5th CMR, 19.5.16

The blood of heroes is the seed of freedom. ~ Epitaph of Private Ivor Powell, 87th BCI, 4.9.18 (age 39) Dury Mill

Keep alive their pride, remember how they lived, remember why they died. ~ Epitaph of Private Gordon William Gurden, RHLI, 19.8.42 (age 22)

enemy
Purchase now from Amazon

Our Review

Publisher and Release date: Carina Press, 7 October 2013

RHL Classifications:
Time and Setting: German-Occupied Belgium 1915
Genre: Historical Romance
Heat Level: 2
Reviewer Rating: 3.5 stars

Review by Chanta Rand

Set in Belgium during 1915, Aiding the Enemy centers around Rose Culver, a British nurse for the Red Cross who’s been working in a German-occupied hospital. Rose is patient, kind, and has a real passion for what she does. Her patients always come first, no matter what their country of origin. She patches up battered soldiers with no regard for her own well-being many times, forgetting to eat and getting little sleep in the process.

Dr. Herman Geoff is a German surgeon working at the hospital with Rose. He’s attracted to her caring manner and her superior nursing skills. Very early in the book, it’s obvious to everyone except Rose that Dr. Geoff has more than a passing interest in her. For her part, Rose is also attracted to him, but she tries to maintain the expected level of professionalism between them.

When Dr. Geoff finds out Rose has been helping British soldiers escape back to their homelands, he looks the other way–until she is arrested for treason. Spoiler Alert: DO NOT READ THIS UNLESS YOU WANT TO KNOW WHAT HAPPENS.

Okay, don’t say I didn’t warn you. Here we go. You still have a chance to look away. No? Okay. Dr. Geoff decides he just can’t be without Rose. So, he comes up with a brilliant plan to bust her out of jail, marry her, and escape to the Netherlands, which is a neutral country. Rose vehemently objects because she feels he’s marrying her for the wrong reasons. Also, she doesn’t want to risk his life by involving him in her escape. Eventually, he convinces her and they flee together.

They have two close calls where they’re almost captured, but in the end, they make it out safely. I thought Rose was a little hard-headed and frankly, naïve to keep running away from Dr. Geoff, but other than that, I found her to be a likeable heroine. Dr. Geoff seemed pretty one-dimensional to me until he had to amputate his brother’s arm. Then, I got a glimpse into the tragic emotions he was battling. One thing I did notice was that there wasn’t a lot of history in here. The story mostly centered around Rose’s romance with Dr. Geoff. If you like historical romances, you should check this one out.

About the Author

Julie Rowe’s first career as a medical lab technologist in Canada took her to the North West Territories and northern Alberta, where she still resides. She loves to include medical details in her romance novels, but admits she’ll never be Julie Roweable to write about all her medical experiences because, “No one would believe them!”. In addition to writing contemporary and historical medical romance, and fun romantic suspense for Entangled Publishing and Carina Press, Julie has a short story in the Mammoth Book of ER Romance. Her book SAVING THE RIFLEMAN (book #1 WAR GIRLS) won the novella category of the Gayle Wilson Award of Excellence. Her writing has also appeared in several magazines such as Romantic Times Magazine, Today’s Parent, and Canadian Living. You can reach her at www.julieroweauthor.com , on Twitter @julieroweauthor or at her Facebook page: www.facebook.com/JulieRoweAuthor

One thought on “Virtual Tour – Aiding the Enemy by Julie Rowe

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *